Introduction

ISIS4D is an association of laboratories which aims to develop in situ studies of materials and fluids under complex loadings in controlled environments using both a multidisciplinary X-ray imaging platform and complementary measurements methods.

 

The study of functional materials with driven microstructure, structural materials under severe environment or even biological materials requires the knowledge of their microstructures and its evolution during real complex use. Although X-ray microtomography allows following such evolutions in volume, only a few in situ tests are available due to restricted access to the technique.

The partners expertise in innovative test devices design provides tools for the development of in situ set-ups both compatible with X-ray micromotomography and « extreme » environmental conditions. Complementary characterization methods such as Digital Image Correlation (eitehr 2D or 3D), infrared thermography, physical and chemical analysis may then be used in order to extract fundamental information further implemented in multiscale and multiphysics based modeling.

Information leaflet

Présentation de la plateforme de microtomographie et d’imagerie à rayons X

ISIS4D est un groupement de laboratoires dont le but est le développement d’essais in situ sous microtomographie afin d’étudier des solides ou des fluides soumis à des chargements complexes en environnement contrôlé.

 

L’étude de matériaux fonctionnels possédant des microstructures contrôlées, de matériaux structurels dans des environnements extrêmes ou même de matériaux biologiques nécessite la connaissance de leur microstructure et de son évolution au cours d’une utilisation complexe. Bien que la microtomographie par rayons X permette de suivre de telles évolutions, seulement quelques tests in situ sont aujourd’hui disponibles du fait de l’accès limité à la technique.

L’expertise des laboratoires partenaires dans le développement de machines d’essais innovantes est un atout pour la conception d’essais in situ à la fois compatibles avec la microtomographie X et des environnements extrêmes. Des méthodes de caractérisation complémentaires comme la corrélation d’images numérique (2D et/ou 3D), la thermographie infrarouge, ainsi que des analyses physiques et chimiques pourront alors être utilisées pour extraire des informations supplémentaires pouvant être intégrées dans des modélisations multi-échelles et multi-physiques.

Plaquette de présentation